MANAGEMENT TEAM CABINET

AGENDA ITEM NO: 01 DECEMBER 2009 17 DECEMBER 2009

LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE ACT 1988 (as amended) PUBLICATION OF RURAL SETTLEMENT LIST (Report by the Head of Customer Services)

1 INTRODUCTION

- **1.1** Section 42 of the Local Government Finance Act 1988 was amended by the Local Government and Rating Act 1997 to require billing authorities, such as Huntingdonshire District Council, to compile and maintain a rural settlement list.
- **1.2** The settlements referred to are those which appear to the authority to have a population of not more than 3,000 on the last 31st December before the beginning of the chargeable financial year.
- **1.3** A rural settlement list must identify the boundary of each settlement, whether by defining the boundaries (for example, ward or parish boundaries) or referring to boundaries in a map or other document. This means that the Council can define the boundary of a rural settlement by reference to maps rather than accepting ward or parish boundaries to be the boundary of the settlement.
- **1.4** The purpose of the Rural Settlement List is to allow the Council to grant Rural Rate Relief to rural post offices, village shops, public houses and petrol stations.

2 CURRENT POSITION

- 2.1 Officers have undertaken a review of rural settlements and advise Members that changes need to be made to the previously approved rural settlement list. This is necessary because of growth and expansion in some rural areas but specifically because of The Huntingdonshire (Parishes) Order 2009 which has affected around 3,000 properties. This report therefore revises the rural settlement list and defines new boundaries by reference to maps. For example, the rural areas of Ramsey and Farcet have been separately identified to ensure that local shops, pubs and other local businesses can continue to benefit from Rural Rate Relief as appropriate. Similarly, Offord D'Arcy and Offord Cluny have remained as separate settlements despite being merged as a local council under the 2009 Order
- **2.2** In this way, qualifying rural shops and businesses will continue to be eligible to make application for certain mandatory and/or discretionary relief under the amended 1988 Act.
- **2.3** The amended draft rural settlement list, as proposed at Annex 'A', must be published and available for inspection by 31 December.
- **2.4** Where it is necessary to define boundaries, other than those of the respective parishes, these are illustrated by reference to maps, as shown at Annex 'B'. Members should note that these boundaries relate only to the application of Rural Rate Relief and not other matters (for example, planning development).

3 **RECOMMENDATION**

3.1 It is recommended that the Cabinet resolve that the revised rural settlement list shown at Annexes 'A' and 'B' be approved and made available for inspection as required throughout the three months preceding the beginning of the next financial year.

Contact Officer: Julia Barber – Head of Customer Services (01480) 388105

LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE ACT 1988 RURAL SETTLEMENT LIST

Abbotsley Abbots Ripton Alconbury **Alconbury Weston** Alwalton Barham & Woolley Bluntisham Brington & Molesworth Broughton Buckden Buckworth Burv Bythorn & Keyston Catworth Chesterton Colne Conington Covinaton **Denton & Caldecote** Diddington Earith Easton Ellington Elton Farcet (village area only)* Farcet (rural area)* Fenstanton Folksworth & Washingley Glatton Grafham Great & Little Gidding Great Gransden Great Paxton **Great Staughton** Haddon Hail Weston Hamerton & Steeple Gidding Hemingford Abbots

Hemingford Grey Hilton Holme Holywell-cum-Needingworth Houghton & Wyton Kimbolton Kings Ripton Leighton Bromswold Morborne Offord Cluny* Offord D'Arcv* Old Hurst Old Weston Perry Pidley-cum-Fenton Ramsey Forty Foot* Ramsey St Mary's* Ramsey Mereside* Ramsey Heights* Sibson-cum-Stibbington Southoe & Midloe Spaldwick Stilton Stow Longa The Stukeleys Tilbrook Toseland Upton & Coppingford Upwood & the Raveleys Waresley-cum-Tetworth Water Newton Winwick Wistow Woodhurst Woodwalton Wyton-on-the-Hill Yelling

The boundaries to be used are those which currently define the relevant parish with the exception of those marked by an asterisk (*)